Former Councilmember, Highline College VP Appointed To Transit Task Force

Print This Post  Email This Post

Former Burien City Councilmember Sue Blazak, along with Highline College Vice President of Administration Larry Yok, were appointed Monday (Feb. 22nd) along with 26 others to a new Regional Transit Task Force that will advise on the future of King County Metro Transit services.

King County Executive Dow Constantine announced the 28 regional and community leaders in a press release on the King County website:

“I’ve asked this cross-section of regional leaders and transit users to engage in a discussion about how we can best deliver transit service for all parts of the county within the resources we have,” said Executive Constantine. “I deliberately sought a group of people who are willing to put aside political divisions and think creatively about how to plan a transit system that will serve us well in the future.”

Constantine said the conversation will include development of a comprehensive vision for what the regional transit system should look like in the future as well as criteria for systematically growing or reducing the transit system, depending on the revenues available.

Sue Blazak

The geographically balanced 28-member task force includes a mix of elected officials and representatives of business, labor, education, and human service agencies, along with riders.

“Our goal was to pull together a task force that was diverse and represented the broad perspectives across our county—from students to elderly people, from business to labor, from Seattle to Maple Valley, and more,” said Metropolitan King County Councilmember Larry Phillips, sponsor of the motion creating the panel. “The Regional Transit Task Force is charged with developing a regional vision to shape our transit system for the future and address the revenue shortfalls Metro faces. I think these individuals, with input from the larger community, are up to that task.”

The task force is being asked to develop policy options for discussion by July and to adopt final policy recommendations by September 2010.

Here’s the full list of 28 appointees:


Accessible services Jane Kuechle AtWork
Economic development Kate Joncas West – Downtown Seattle Assoc
Economic development Christine Hoffman East – Redmond Chamber
Economic development Tom Pierson South – Federal Way Chamber
Education Larry Yok South – Highline Comm. College
Education Josh Kavanagh West – Univ. of Washington
Elected official Suzette Cooke South – Kent
Elected official Noel Gerken South – Maple Valley
Elected official Tom Rasmussen West – Seattle
Elected official Chris Eggen West – Shoreline
Elected official Grant Degginger East – Bellevue
Elected official Fred Butler East – Issaquah
Environmental Rob Johnson Transportation Choices Coalition
Environmental Chuck Ayers Cascade Bicycle Club
Good government James Kelly Urban League of Metro. Seattle
Organized labor Carl Jackson Amalgamated Transit Union
Organized labor David Freiboth King County Labor Council
Puget Sound Regional Council Bob Drewel PSRC
Riders Sue Blazak South
Riders Carla Saulter West
Riders Shiv Batra East
Social services Estela Ortega West – El Centro de la Raza
Social services Lynn Moody East – Hopelink
Trip reduction Liz Warman South – The Boeing Company
Trip reduction Jim Stanton East – Microsoft
Transportation expert Steve Marshall Cascadia Center
Transportation expert Jared Smith Parsons Brinckerhoff
Transit Advisory Committee Ed Miller Transit Advisory Committee

Print This Post  Email This Post

Share Your Opinion

By participating in our online comment system, you are agreeing to abide by the terms of our comment policy.

...and oh, if you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!