Deadline to Register to Vote in Aug. 7 Election is Monday, July 9

Print This Post  Email This Post

Monday, July 9 is the deadline to register to vote or update registration information in time to vote in the Aug. 7 primary election, according to King County Elections.

Voters can check to make sure their registration information is current by using My Voter Guide online, by calling the Voter Hotline at 206-296-VOTE (8683), or by visiting King County Elections weekdays from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at 919 SW Grady Way in Renton.

“We’ll be mailing ballots for the primary election soon, so it’s very important that voters’ names, addresses and signatures are current,” said Sherril Huff, Director of Elections for King County. “If you’ve moved or changed your name recently, you need to update your voter registration.”

Signatures tend to change over time so it’s also important for voters to update their signature on file at Elections. This helps avoid problems when Elections reviews and verifies each voter’s signature before the ballot can be counted.

Voters who miss the July 9 deadline to update their registration should still contact the Elections office to update their information for future elections. King County residents not currently registered in Washington can register in person after July 9 at the Elections office through July 30.

Details and registration forms are available on the King County Elections website Online registration is available through the Secretary of State website,

Who can register?
To be eligible to register to vote, you must be:

  • 18 years old by election day (August 7)
  • A United States citizen
  • A legal resident of the state of Washington
  • Not under the authority of the Department of Corrections

Voters can visit the Elections website,, or call the Elections office at 206-296-VOTE for assistance and information.

Here are the candidates on measures on the ballot:

United States Senator
Partisan office
Michael Baumgartner (Prefers Republican Party)
Will Baker (Prefers Reform Party)
Chuck Jackson (Prefers Republican Party)
Timmy (Doc) Wilson (Prefers Democratic Party)
Art Coday (Prefers Republican Party)
Maria Cantwell (Prefers Democratic Party)
Glen (Stocky) R. Stockwell (Prefers Republican Party)
Mike the Mover (Prefers Republican Party)
United States Representative
Congressional District No. 7
partisan office
Don Rivers (Prefers Democratic Party)
Goodspaceguy (Prefers Employmentwealth Party)
Scott Sutherland (Prefers G.O.P. Party)
Andrew Hughes (Prefers Democratic Party)
Jim McDermott (Prefers Democratic Party)
Ron Bemis (Prefers Republican Party)
Charles Allen (Prefers Democratic Party)
Governorpartisan officeRob Hill (Prefers Democratic Party)
Rob McKenna (Prefers Republican Party)
Jay Inslee (Prefers Democratic Party)
James White (Prefers Independent Party)
Christian Joubert (States No Party Preference)
Shahram Hadian (Prefers Republican Party)
L. Dale Sorgen (Prefers Independent Party)
Max Sampson (Prefers Republican Party)
Javier O. Lopez (Prefers Republican Party)
Lieutenant Governorpartisan officeGlenn Anderson (Prefers Indep Republican Party)
Brad Owen (Prefers Democrat Party)
James Robert Deal (States No Party Preference)
Bill Finkbeiner (Prefers Republican Party)
Dave T. Sumner IV (Prefers Neopopulist Party)
Mark Greene (Prefers Democracy Indep. Party)
Secretary of Statepartisan officeJim Kastama (Prefers Democratic Party)
David J. Anderson (States No Party Preference)
Sam Wright (Prefers The Human Rights Party)
Karen Murray (Prefers Constitution Party)
Kathleen Drew (Prefers Democratic Party)
Kim Wyman (Prefers Republican Party)
Greg Nickels (Prefers Democratic Party)
State Treasurerpartisan officeJim McIntire (Prefers Democratic Party)
State Auditorpartisan officeTroy Kelley (Prefers Democratic Party)
James Watkins (Prefers Republican Party)
Mark Miloscia (Prefers Democratic Party)
Craig Pridemore (Prefers Democratic Party)
Attorney Generalpartisan officeBob Ferguson (Prefers Democratic Party)
Reagan Dunn (Prefers Republican Party)
Stephen Pidgeon (Prefers Republican Party)
Commissioner of Public Landspartisan officeStephen A. Sharon (States No Party Preference)
Peter J. Goldmark (Prefers Democratic Party)
Clint Didier (Prefers Republican Party)
Superintendent of Public Instructionnonpartisan officeJames Bauckman
Randy I. Dorn
Don Hansler
John Patterson Blair
Ronald L. (Ron) Higgins
Insurance Commissionerpartisan officeJohn R. Adams (Prefers Republican Party)
Mike Kreidler (Prefers Democratic Party)
Scott Reilly (Prefers Republican Party)
Brian C. Berend (Prefers Independent Party)
State Representative
Legislative Dist No. 34 – Position 1
partisan office
William Giammarese (Prefers Democratic Party)
Eileen L. Cody (Prefers Democratic Party)
State Representative
Legislative Dist No. 34 – Position 2
partisan office
Joe Fitzgibbon (Prefers Democratic Party)
State Supreme Court
Justice Position No. 2
nonpartisan office
Douglas W. McQuaid
Susan Owens
Scott Stafne
State Supreme Court
Justice Position No. 8
nonpartisan office, short and full term
Bruce O. Danielson
Steve Gonzalez
State Supreme Court
Justice Position No. 9
nonpartisan office
Bruce Hilyer
Sheryl Gordon McCloud
Richard B. Sanders
John W. Ladenburg
Court of Appeals, Division No. 1, District No. 1
Judge Position No. 4
nonpartisan office
Ronald E. Cox
Court of Appeals, Division No. 1, District No. 1
Judge Position No. 7
nonpartisan office
Marlin Appelwick
Superior Court
Judge Position No. 25
nonpartisan office
Elizabeth Berns
Roger Davidheiser
Eric Schmidt
Superior Court
Judge Position No. 29
nonpartisan office
Hong Tran
Sean O’Donnell
Superior Court
Judge Position No. 30
nonpartisan office
Kimberly Allen
Doug North
Superior Court
Judge Position No. 42
nonpartisan office
Sue Parisien
Marianne Jones
David Ruzumna
Christopher A. Washington
Superior Court
Judge Position No. 46
nonpartisan office
Judy Ramseyer
Gary Ernsdorff
King County
Proposition No. 1
Children and Family Services Center Capital Levy

Print This Post  Email This Post

Share Your Opinion

By participating in our online comment system, you are agreeing to abide by the terms of our comment policy.

...and oh, if you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!