Congratulations to the Winners of the 2017 Burien Film Festival, which were awarded on June 24!

Burien-centric 5 min. Short Film Contest:


The Burien-centric Short Film Contest was open to all filmmakers and accepted entries 5-7 minutes in length, and which featured a Burien neighborhood.

Eligible films in 2017 met the following criteria:

  • Length: 5-7 minutes

  • Genre: Adventure

  • Feature a Burien Neighborhood. 

  • Highlighted at least one small business, preferably in the neighborhood you are assigned. If your neighborhood is residential, then pick a nearby Burien business.

  • Must have, in some manner, included a bicycle.

BEST FILM: ‘Dream Part One’ directed by The After Image Productions. Prize – $1500.00:


2ND PLACE: ‘The Snuggly Prophecy’ directed by Tucker Case. Prize – $1000.00


3RD PLACE: ‘Dogs’ directed by Nuk Suwanchote. Prize – $750.00

  • Best Actor (tie) – Clark Kerns in ‘Floating Boy’
  • Best Actor (tie) – Nuk Suwanchote in ‘Dogs’
  • Best Director – The After Image Productions for ‘Dream Part One’
  • Best Writing – Malique Harris for ‘Sidekick’
  • Best Cinematography – The After Image Productions for ‘Dream Part One’
  • Best Sound – The After Image Productions for ‘Dream Part One’
Open Short Film Contest:
  • Best Film: ‘Adventures of Lucy’ directed by Teddy Valentovich
  • Second Place – ‘That Smell’ directed by Kyle Lavore
  • Third Place (tie) – Dashiell: A Journey Through Autism’ directed by Josh Sutherland
  • Third Place (tie) – ‘Arias’ directed by Drew Viehmann
  • Best Actor – Shanelle Leonard in ‘The Noise Made by People’
  • Best Director – Teddy Valentovich for ‘Adventures of Lucy’
  • Best Writing – Teddy Valentovich for ‘Adventures of Lucy’
  • Best Cinematography – Caleb Garrett for ‘The Spaceman’
  • Best Sound – Juan Pantoja for ‘Hoy’
Student 10 min. Short Film Contest:
  • Best Film – ‘Changing Cars’ directed by Jack Campise – Award: GoPro HERO session
  • Second Place – ‘Static’ directed by Nick Beardslee and Drew Beardslee – Award – One Year Subscription to Premiere Pro
  • Third Place – ‘Jimmy the Limo Driver’ directed by Brendan Hickey – Award: One copy of Final Draft
  • Best Actor – Cameron McCormick in ‘Static’ –
  • Best Director – Brendan Hickey for ‘Jimmy the Limo Driver
  • Best Writing – Rick Hamilton for ‘Choices’ –
  • Best Cinematography – Ben Roland for ‘Stood a Birch Tree’
  • Best Sound – Juan Patoja for ‘Hoy’