Do you know someone who has improved the quality of life in Burien? Do you know of a program or organization that has helped others in the community?

“Help us recognize that person or organization who has made outstanding contributions to the Burien community in 2020 by nominating them for Burien City Council’s Citizen of the Year!”

Nominations are due April 30, 2021.

Last year’s award winners were Pastors Jenny Partch (Highline United Methodist Church), Lina Thompson (Lake Burien Presbyterian church), and Grace Stiller (President, Burien Arts Association).

Send the full name of the person you are nominating, a short statement describing why they deserve to be honored, and any links or supporting documents to:

Attn: Adriene Buckley
City of Burien
400 SW 152nd St., Suite 300
Burien, WA 98166

Or via email to

Include “Citizen of the Year Nomination” in the subject line.

Deadline: April 30, 2021.

For more information, please contact Adriene Buckley at or (206) 241-4647.

Previous Citizens of the Year include:

    • Cyndi Upthegrove (2019)
    • Para los Niños (2018)
    • Larry Cripe & Wendy Meyers-Wenger (2017)
    • Cassidy Huff (2016)
    • Eric Mathison (2015)
    • Maureen Hoffmann, Betty Olson Vacca and Neighbors of Seahurst Park (2014)
    • Michael Noakes and Donna DiFiore (2013)
    • John Feeney (2012)
    • Maggie Larrick and Eric Dickman (2011)

Founder/Publisher/Editor. Three-time National Emmy Award winning Writer (“Bill Nye the Science Guy”), Director, Producer, Journalist and more...