On Monday night, July 29, 2019, the Burien Youth Council held a Candidate Forum for 2019 Burien City Council candidates at Navos’ Revelle Hall.

The deadline to vote in the primary election is Tuesday, Aug. 6, 2019, and the top two vote-getters for each position will move on to the Nov. 5, 2019 General Election.

Six of the nine candidates running for the three open seats on the council (Positions 2, 4 & 6) attended:

  • Charles Schaefer (Position #4)
  • Omaha Sternberg (Position #4)
  • Kevin Schilling (Position #4)
  • Robert L Richmond III (Position #6)
  • Sofia Aragon (Position #6)
  • Cydney Moore* (Position #2)

Not in attendance: Lucy Krakowiak (Position #4), Debi Wagner (Position #6) and Joel Manning* (Position #2).

*NOTE: Two candidates are not listed on the King County Elections website because they’ve already qualified for the general ballot, and are not in the Aug. 6 primary.

“Out of the three candidates who weren’t there, only two gave prior notice/responded to our invitation stating that each had prior engagements and therefore would be unable to make the date,” organizer Davie Ross told The B-Town Blog.

Watch a condensed version (running time 1 hour, 10 minutes) of the video we broadcast live on our Facebook page below (to get alerts of future live videos, please “Like” us here):

Burien Youth Council focuses on civically engaging youth and giving the community a voice through addressing issues within Burien and taking action while not only achieving goals but more specifically through supporting and accepting one’s passions, To not only make the world a better place, but the community as well.

Organizers for the Youth Council included Maya Matta, Ciele Quiro, Maya Santos, Fela Goerz, Tija Fahler, Diego Rose, Ryan Lipour, Amrit Singh, Josiah King, Sky Chirko, and Davie Ross.

More info here.

Founder/Publisher/Editor. Three-time National Emmy Award winning Writer (“Bill Nye the Science Guy”), Director, Producer, Journalist and more...