And the Nominees Are …  Each year, the Highline Schools Foundation solicits nominations from community members, district employees and parents for its prestigious and much-anticipated Gold Star Awards. This year’s list of impressive and well-deserving nominees includes highly qualified staff, volunteers and administrators. The Gold Star Award WINNERS will be announced live on Thursday, March 19 at the fourth annual Gold Star Awards BASH. This red-carpet style event (21 and over) features a night of music, drinks, appetizers, dancing and a LIVE announcement of the Gold Star Award winners. Tickets are still only $15!

WHAT:  Gold Star Awards BASH! WHEN: Thursday, March 19, 2015, from 6:30 – 8:30 p.m. WHERE: Technology Access Foundation (TAF) Headquarters, located at 605 SW 108th Street, Seattle TICKETS: Tickets available:
Whether you are supporting a specific nominee or just want to be in on the fun and be the first to hear who wins, this is the night to celebrate all the outstanding Teachers, Volunteers, Alumni, Staff and Administrators of Highline Public Schools! 2015 GOLD STAR AWARD NOMINEESGold Star Rookie Teacher of the Year This new award recognizes a teacher in Highline Public Schools with 3 or less years of total teaching experience in Highline or any other district, and who demonstrates outstanding abilities in their field early in their career:
  • Katryn Bangert, Teacher – Grade 4, Bow Lake Elementary School
  • Chris Brase, Teacher – Grade 4, Marvista Elementary School
  • Kimberly Campi, Teacher – Grade 2, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Megan Fleming, Teacher – Challenge 4/5, Parkside Elementary School
  • Elizabeth Gilbert, Teacher – Special Ed/LRC, Hazel Valley Elementary School
  • Nathaniel Walker, Teacher – Special Ed/EBC, Seahurst Elementary School
Outstanding Administrator Nominees:
  • Anne Arnold, Director, PreK-3 Early Learning, Instruction & Innovation
  • Nichole Calkins, Physical Education & Health Instructional Specialist
  • Jacqueline Downey, Assistant Principal, Highline High School
  • Joan Ferrigno, Assistant Principal, Chinook Middle School
  • Terri McMahan, Director of Athletics, Administration
  • Kelly Raymond, Executive Director, Administration
  • Alan Spicciati, Chief Accountability Officer, Administration
Outstanding Classified Support Staff Nominees:
  • Tom English, Lead Custodian, Operations
  • Theda Hiranaka, Attendance Secretary/Office Support, Raisbeck Aviation High School
  • Lynda Johanson, Community Engagement Specialist/Activities Coordinator, Chinook Middle School
  • Gail Korakis, Office Manager, Academy of Citizenship & Empowerment (ACE)
  • Maricela Sanchez, Bilingual Family Liaison, Highline High School
  • Erma Sechrist, Executive Assistant, Human Resources
  • Nicole Williams, Paraeducator, Hazel Valley Elementary School
  • Barb Wilson, College Access Specialist, Student Advancement
Outstanding Teacher Nominees: The Gold Star Outstanding Teacher will also represent the District as its Teacher of the Year in the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction sponsored regional contest. OSPI requires more information from those nominating a Teacher of the Year.
  • Aaron Aker, Teacher – Grade 4, North Hill Elementary School
  • Galina Asaturova, Teacher – Math, Pacific Middle School
  • James Boutin, Teacher – Language Arts/Social Studies, Academy of Citizenship & Empowerment (ACE)
  • Matthew Burman, Teacher – ISS, Pacific Middle School
  • Kate Cassidy, Teacher – Language Arts, Pacific Middle School
  • Dawn Claflin, Teacher – LA/ELL, Highline High School
  • Mary Danforth, Teacher – Special Education/Resource Room, North Hill Elementary School
  • Jennifer Ferry, Librarian, Southern Heights Elementary School
  • Yazmin Gil, Teacher – Kindergarten Dual Language, Hilltop Elementary School
  • Nicole Grambo, Teacher – Grade 5 Dual Language/Journalism Club, Hilltop Elementary School
  • Cindy Hamar, Teacher – Language Arts/Social Studies and MYP Coordinator, Pacific Middle School
  • Sallyanne Hendren, Librarian, Bow Lake Elementary School
  • Lisha Johnson, Teacher – Business Education, Highline High School
  • Jesse Julius, Teacher – Social Studies, Cascade Middle School
  • Megan Logan, Teacher – 5th Grade Dual Language, Mount View Elementary School
  • Alecia Mabalay, Teacher – Kindergarten, Parkside Elementary School
  • Mike McLeod, Teacher – Grade 6, North Hill Elementary School
  • Gabe Munoz, Teacher – Grade 5/Journalism Club, Hilltop Elementary School
  • Catherine O’Dea, Teacher – Special Education, Pacific Middle School
  • Jeanette Reed, Teacher – Grade 5 Dual Language/Journalism Club, Hilltop Elementary School
  • Ryan Reilly, Teacher – Grade 3, White Center Heights Elementary School
  • Catherine Reinsel-Torres, Teacher – ILC, North Hill Elementary School
  • Colleen Thomas-Reitsma, Teacher – Music, North Hill Elementary School
  • Deborah Walls, Teacher – Grade 1, Shorewood Elementary School
Outstanding Volunteer Nominees:
  • Caitlin Gribble, Marvista Elementary School
  • Kelly Hovland, Highline High School
  • John Nelson, Community Volunteer
  • William Tracy, Community Volunteer
  • Shane Vancamp, Hilltop Elementary School

Since 2007, The B-Town Blog is Burien’s multiple award-winning hyperlocal news/events website dedicated to independent journalism.

One reply on “Highline Schools Foundation announces Gold Star Award nominees”

  1. What a great list of outstanding educators.
    Joan Ferrigno is fabulous. Totally concerned about the success of each individual student.
    Lynda Johanson contributes more to her school than anyone I can imagine. She is superb.
    Tom English makes ERAC the best place to work and hang out.
    Good luck to all, and sincere congratulations to all!

Comments are closed.