Highline Public Schools extended its lottery deadline to Nov. 3, 2019, for community members to volunteer and land a seat on the community-led Capital Facilities Advisory Committee (CFAC).

You could be one of 40 parents, staff and residents working together to prioritize the schools Highline will rebuild in the future.

Submit your name to the lottery here.

Committee Scope of Work
Which schools should be in line for replacement in future bonds after Evergreen and Tyee high schools and Pacific Middle School? CFAC members will recommend an answer to that question after quarterly committee meetings in 2019-20.

CFAC members concluded their 2018-19 work session by recommending to the school board that the next proposed bond include rebuilding Evergreen and Tyee high schools and Pacific Middle School.

Highline has replaced many aging schools since voters passed previous bonds, but a number of aging facilities remain— listed by type—not in priority order:

  • Southern Heights Elementary School
  • Hilltop Elementary School
  • Seahurst Elementary School
  • Beverly Park Elementary School
  • Chinook Middle School
  • Cascade Middle School
  • Sylvester Middle School
  • Big Picture Schools
  • CHOICE Academy
  • New Start High School
  • Valley View Early Learning
  • Other district facilities

“We believe it is critical to have community members from all over the district participate in prioritizing the list of schools to be replaced or improved,” said Highline Chief Operations Officer Scott Logan.

Time commitment
The time commitment this school year for CFAC members is to participate in four evening committee meetings from 6:00 to 8:00 p.m. at Highline Public Schools’ central office:

  1. November 13
  2. January 29
  3. March 25
  4. April 29

Enter your name in the lottery to refill empty seats by November 3.

Capital Facilities Advisory Committee membership will be balanced by high school service area. Lottery participants will be notified of a public drawing to be held the week of November 4.

Founder/Publisher/Editor. Three-time National Emmy Award winning Writer (“Bill Nye the Science Guy”), Director, Producer, Journalist and more...