The Rotary Club of Burien/White Center recently awarded $12,050 to several local students with scholarships to further their education.

After initial written applications, students were interviewed by committee members David Hawthorne, Chairman, Gary Sandwick, Helen Clement, Kathy Reed, and Rich Nomura.

Here are the recipients of the 2018 scholarships:

Walter O. Carsten Memorial Scholarship – Luis Ilampa, Evergreen HS:

Dick Dahlgard Memorial Scholarship – Jennifer Rios Blas, Highline HS:

Dr. Frank Tanaka Memorial Scholarship – Erika Cubias-Fuentes, Puget Sound Skills Center:

Art Wolfe Honorary Scholarship – Jasmine Fisher, Evergreen HS, Christine Nguyen, Highline HS, and Adam Aley, Kennedy Catholic HS:

Rotary Scholarships – Tamaia Wiggs, Kennedy Catholic HS, Emmanuel Cruz Soria, Highline HS, and Natalie Broussard, Evergreen HS:

Service Above Self Awards for 2018 were presented to:

Khatami Chau, Evergreen HS, Tramy Nguyen, Highline HS, and Celia Artis, Kennedy Catholic HS:

Congratulations to these outstanding students!

For more information:

Since 2007, The B-Town Blog is Burien’s multiple award-winning hyperlocal news/events website dedicated to independent journalism.