IMG_2141 Burien/White Center Rotary President, Pam Romine (front left) and Scholarship Chair, Dave Hawthorne (right rear) congratulate all the exceptional students who received Scholarships and Service awards at their recent presentation meeting.[/caption] $10,800 in scholarships were presented to local students recently by the Burien/White Center Rotary Club. “We’re delighted to put our fundraising and donated proceeds to the best use by helping these deserving students reach their post secondary goals,” Rotarian Julie Nelson told The B-Town Blog.

  • The Walter O. Carsten Memorial Scholarship Recipient is Katherinne Cruz-Lopez from Evergreen HS Campus TEC.
  • The Dick Dahlgard Memorial Scholarship recipient is Allen AJ Braun from Highline HS.
  • The Dr. Frank Tanaka Memorial Scholarship recipient is Bailey Nelson from Puget Sound Skills Center.
  • Rotary Scholarship recipients are Katie Thomas from Kennedy Catholic HS, Theresa Tran from Kennedy Catholic HS, Celestina Adu from Highline HS, Kenta Niizuma from Highline HS, Conner Shea from Highilne HS, Ruth Diaz from Evergreen Campus HS3, Christopher Truong from Evergeen Campus TEC, and Alexander Zamora from Evergreen Campus AAA.
  • Service Above Self Award recipients are Quynh Trinh from Evergreen Campus HS3, Karina Marroquin from Highline HS, and Clare Dowd from Kennedy Catholic HS (not pictured).

Since 2007, The B-Town Blog is Burien’s multiple award-winning hyperlocal news/events website dedicated to independent journalism.