The Highline High School Alumni Foundation recently announced its 2020 scholarship recipients.

A scholarship reception normally would be held to meet the students and award these scholarships at the Foundation’s last meeting of the school year; however, in lieu of the pandemic and restrictions placed on public gatherings, organizers announced recipients of these 24 scholarships.

“The Foundation committee wishes a wonderful and successful future to these outstanding students.”

The recipients are as follows:

English Department: Kat Quach

Music Department: Wren Bergin

Tom Sawyer, AVID Scholarship: Eliza Romero

World Language Department: Penelope Phan

Gary Low Memorial Scholarship: Ishmael Togi

Social Studies Department: Evaya McAfee-Coe

John P Ashley Family Scholarship: Malakai Carter

BECU Turnaround Scholarship: Matthew Perkins

Harry E Lemon Memorial Scholarship: Daniel Vuong

Emily Nishimura Herod Scholarship: Miguel Estevez

Patti Burgess Future Teacher Scholarship: Lily Duong

BECU Turnaround Scholarship: Valeria Villalon Tinoco

Mavis Luksan Memorial Scholarship: Dalia Lopez Barraza

Mavis Luksan Memorial Scholarship: Jonathan Toledo Walls

Uli and Gayle Chi – Mathematics Department: Chelsea Vorng

Nancy Tulley Memorial Business Department: Michael Drake

Roger and Linda Walsh Vocational Scholarship: Aulona Hoxha

Roger and Linda Walsh Vocational Scholarship: Payton Gaines

Donald Bunger Future Technology Scholarship: Ashley Herrera

Annex Brothers – Science Department: Jay Maldonado Morales

Roger and Linda Walsh Vocational Scholarship: Erika Swim-Balcom

McEachern Family Foundation- Fine Arts Department: Mitchell Gideon

Dr. Gunsul Memorial Community Service Scholarship: Chhy Chhy Yeak

Dick Dahlgard Memorial Visual Arts/Photography Department: Gabriela Palma-Orantes

For more information:


Founder/Publisher/Editor. Three-time National Emmy Award winning Writer (“Bill Nye the Science Guy”), Director, Producer, Journalist and more...