And the Nominees Are…

Each year the Highline Schools Foundation solicits nominations from community members, District employees and parents for its prestigious and much-anticipated Gold Star Awards. This year’s list of impressive and well-deserving nominees includes highly qualified staff, volunteers and administrators. The Gold Star Award WINNERS will be announced live next Thursday, March 20th at the third annual Gold Star Awards BASH. Created in 2012, this red-carpet style event (21 and over) features a night of music, drinks, appetizers, dancing and a LIVE announcement of the Gold Star Award winners. Come celebrate the outstanding Teachers, Volunteers, Alumni, Staff and Administrators of Highline Public Schools at our district’s version of the Academy Awards!
WHAT: Gold Star Awards BASH WHEN: Thursday, March 20, 2014, 6:30 – 8:30 pm WHERE: The Production Shop, 14624 – 9th Avenue SW, Burien
Tickets are only $15 each and includes appetizers, drinks, music and celebration at this fun event unveiling the winners of the 2014 Gold Star Awards! (21 and over only)


Outstanding Administrator Nominees:
  • Heidi Geise, Assistant Principal, Pacific Middle School
  • Karin Jones, Principal, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Bruce Kelly, Assistant Principal, Raisbeck Aviation High School
  • Dr. Kristin Percy Calaff, Principal, Southern Heights Elementary
  • Don Waring, Executive Director, Human Resources
  • Barb Wilson, College Access Specialist
Outstanding Classified or Professional Support Staff Nominees
  • Marci Anderson-Youngstrom, Psychologist
  • Deputy Brian Barnes, School Resource Officer, Highline High School and Evergreen Campus
  • Marie Duxbury, Paraeducator – Special Ed, Bow Lake Elementary School
  • Faafiti Fiso, Bookkeeper, Chinook Middle School
  • Janel Gibb, Paraeducator, Pacific Middle School
  • Cindi Gilbert, Paraeducator, Gregory Heights Elementary School
  • William Iwen, Physical Therapist
  • Gurjinder Kaur, Paraeducator – Special Ed, Chinook Middle School
  • Andrea Love, Counselor, New Start High School
  • Barbara Moore, Paraeducator – Special Ed, Midway Elementary School
  • Stefan Nelson, Cultural Arts Specialist
  • Steve O’Brien, Paraeducator – Special Ed, Global Connections High School
  • Lolita O’Donnell, Student Placement
  • Shauna , Pierson, Counselor, Academy of Citizenship & Empowerment
  • Fran Pruett, Paraeducator, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Roberta Reardon, Occupational Therapist
  • Linda Simpier, Dispatch Manager, Transportation
  • Jayne Smith, Office Manager, Seahurst Elementary School
  • Rachel Strauss, Counselor, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Vicki Treakle, Office Manager, Shorewood Elementary School
Outstanding Teacher Nominees
  • Aaron Aker, Teacher – Grade 4, North Hill Elementary School
  • Debra Banyai, Teacher – Grade 2, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Nancy Becker, Teacher – Grade 5, North Hill Elementary School
  • Chris Brooks, Teacher – Language Arts, Cascade Middle School
  • Erin Carlton, Teacher – Art, Highline High School
  • Kate Cassidy, Teacher – Language Arts, Pacific Middle School
  • Thara Cooper-Coughlin, Teacher – Music, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Timothy Crawley, Teacher – AVID/Business, Highline High School
  • Genevieve Fernandez, Teacher – World Languages, Health Sciences & Human Services High School
  • Kimberlee Goodman, Teacher, Parkside Elementary School
  • Josielma Hodge, Teacher – Grade 5, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Gerald Larkins, Teacher – Band, McMicken Heights & Bow Lake Elementary Schools
  • Alecia Mabalay, Teacher – Kindergarten, Parkside Elementary School
  • Tia Nguyen, Teacher, Midway Elementary School
  • Kathy Onorati, Teacher – Science, Pacific Middle School
  • Kit Remson, Teacher – Kindergarten, Shorewood Elementary School
  • Claire Waistell, Teacher – Band/Leadership, Sylvester Middle School
  • Steven Walker, Teacher – Band, Cedarhurst Elementary School
  • Karen Wilson, Teacher – Math, Raisbeck Aviation High School
  • Jeanette Yee, Teacher – Grade 4, Parkside Elementary School
Outstanding Volunteer Nominees
  • Steve Burke, Raisbeck Aviation High School
  • Steve O’Brien, Tyee Education Complex
  • Michelle Paulson, Gregory Heights Elementary School
  • Joe and Leslee Van, McMicken Heights Elementary School
  • Janet Williams, Firefighter, City of SeaTac
  • Cherie Trondson, Linda Elmore, Fuki Masuzawa, and Cheryl Forbes, Bow Lake Elementary School Parent and Community Group

Since 2007, The B-Town Blog is Burien’s multiple award-winning hyperlocal news/events website dedicated to independent journalism.