Each year, the Highline Schools Foundation solicits nominations from community members, district employees and parents for its prestigious and much-anticipated Gold Star Awards. This year’s list of impressive nominees includes well-deserving teachers, staff, administrators and volunteers. Highline Schools Foundation congratulates them all and looks forward to celebrating them at the Gold Star Awards BASH on March 8, 2018 (info below). The 2018 Gold Star Award Nominees Are… Gold Star Rookie Teacher of the Year:

  • Isel Betancourt Sanchez, Madrona Elementary School, Teacher – Grade 3/Dual Language
  • Meghan Kelley, Marvista Elementary School, Dean and Educational Assistant – Teacher LRC
  • Ramana Marshalla, Raisbeck Aviation High School, Teacher – World Languages
  • Tiara (Staley) Nyamote-Nyaboga, Beverly Park Elementary School, Teacher – Grade 6
  • Tory Walker, Seahurst Elementary School, Teacher – Grade 4
Outstanding Administrator Nominees:
  • Kisa Hendrickson, Central Office, Chief Engagement and Partnerships Officer
  • Melissa Pointer, Marvista Elementary School, Principal
Outstanding Professional or Classified Support Staff Nominees:
  • Karen Berg, Beverly Park Elementary School, Paraeducator
  • Sarah Brown, Hazel Valley Elementary School, Paraeducator – Special Ed
  • Lana Cesmat, Shorewood Elementary School, Paraeducator – Special Ed
  • Kathryn Chambers Brown, Hilltop Elementary School, Paraeducator
  • Charleisha Cox, McMicken Heights Elementary School, Office Manager
  • Barbara Edwards, Central Office, Elementary Peer Mentor/National Board Coordinator
  • Linda Elmore, Bow Lake Elementary School, Paraeducator – Special Ed
  • Angelique Golden, Madrona Elementary School, Kitchen Helper
  • Shawn Holter, Marvista Elementary School, Paraeducator
  • Lynda Johanson, Chinook Middle School, Activities Coordinator/Athletic Director/Family Engagement Specialist
  • Rachel Kerr, Evergreen High School, Counselor
  • Jillian Lao, Hilltop Elementary School, Counselor
  • Tamara Miller Glahn, Hilltop Elementary School, Paraeducator
  • Marvista Office Team, Marvista Elementary School, Office Team
  • Tim Reed, Hilltop Elementary School, Custodian
  • Maureen Roe, Parkside Elementary School, Paraeducator
  • Amin Shibly, Hazel Valley Elementary School, Lead Custodian
  • Andrea Warf, Cascade Middle School, Attendance Specialist
Outstanding Teacher Nominees:
  • Scott Babcock, Highline High School, Teacher – Music, Band Teacher, Coach, Advisor
  • Wendy Colmus, Seahurst Elementary School, Teacher – Grade 5/6
  • Tamela DeRosso, Hilltop Elementary School, Teacher – Physical Education
  • Meagan Fleming, Parkside Elementary School, Teacher – Challenge
  • Sarah Gasamis, Shorewood Elementary School, Librarian
  • Nicole Grambo, Hilltop Elementary School, Teacher – Grade 5/Dual Language
  • Alana Hammer, Parkside Elementary School, Teacher – Music
  • Deborah Lane, Shorewood Elementary School, Specialist – Math
  • Sandra Lobo, McMicken Heights Elementary School, Teacher – EBC
  • Annie Nguyen, McMicken Heights Elementary School, Teacher – Grade 3
  • Mary Jo Popich, Hilltop Elementary School, Teacher – Grade 2/Dual Language
  • Sara Savala, Beverly Park Elementary School, Teacher – Music
  • Eric Soran, Marvista Elementary School, Teacher – EBC
  • Reid Sundblad, Chinook Middle School, Teacher – Physical Education
The Gold Star Outstanding Teacher will also represent the District as its Teacher of the Year in the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction sponsored regional contest.Outstanding Volunteer Nominees:
  • Andrew Boyer, Beverly Park Elementary School, Volunteer – Reading Partners
  • Bernie Dorsey, Raisbeck Aviation High School, Director District 4 (Vice President)
  • Tyrone Dunn, Parkside Elementary School, Volunteer
  • Sherri Gorney, Sylvester Middle School, PTSA Volunteer
  • Kent Novick, Marvista Elementary School, Volunteer
  • Long Phan, Evergreen High School, Volunteer/Alum
  • Jen Pilgram, Beverly Park Elementary School, PTA President
  • Celest Shanklin, Highline High School, Team Mom (Football/Wrestling)
Gold Star Awards BASH! A Gold Star Award is a great honor. These awards provide our community the opportunity to honor those in our schools and district who have shown outstanding support of students and education and who give all of us inspiration and direction. The BASH! is our time to honor and celebrate everyone who is nominated. Everyone is invited to celebrate the outstanding Teachers, Volunteers, Staff, Administrators, and Alumni of Highline Public Schools at The BASH! Celebrate Highline and enjoy an evening of music, drinks, appetizers and a LIVE announcement of the Gold Star Award winners. Whether you are supporting a specific nominee or just want to be in on the fun and be the first to hear who wins … you don’t want to miss the party!
WHAT: Gold Star Awards BASH! WHEN: Thursday, March 8, 2018: 6:30 – 8:00 pm WHERE: The Beach Park Event Center, 22030 Cliff Ave South, Des Moines TICKETS: http://tiny.cc/GoldStarBash INFO: www.highlineschoolsfoundation.org

Since 2007, The B-Town Blog is Burien’s multiple award-winning hyperlocal news/events website dedicated to independent journalism.